top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

End of Week Gun Fight and Other News

Heya, I come again bearing.. some news about Gun Fight. With the lessons I am about halfway done, and making concept for the added features to be added outside of the lessons given. And still needing to make the animations of the players themselves, HOWEVER I do have the background and UI bullet sprites made.

Rather than making the bullets invisible, felt like blacking them out would look visually better, and when both players have different amounts of ammo still, symmetrical. Balanced to be visually appealing, styled enough to be noticeable without DIRECT exclusive focus.

I still have some lessons to get through however, but I feel these will be a bit quicker to get through. So it shouldn't take too much longer to get a bigger update to present.


Alongside Gun Fight however, for side projects like the platformer one mentioned before, I'm getting into more background creation. At the moment this is for a beach/island setting, but it's still very early, so it at least has the base "what everything is" layers, yet no detail in them. Basic sky, ocean, and sand, but I want to add a sunset view in the sky, and trees to say the minimum. And more detail to the water would also not hurt.

Half contemplating tinting the water a light pink, because I want to say it would make it look more natural to have the pink of the sky reflect off the water, but I would have to look into images more of beaches to see if that'd be right to do.

May also make the sand layer less wobbly cause in a parallax view it'd be one of the faster scrolling layers, which means it'd be closest to the character, so wobbles like this would be a lot wider in theory.


Small fun detail, both this and Gun Fight use similar aspects in their backgrounds with the mountains and sky specifically. The sun I may try to make slightly animated... Maybe.

The sand however is new. Layered by lighter and darker colors of sand, something like this I want to do with the taller background as well. But maybe a bit more detailed on the other project.

Overall got these backgrounds and tilesets going, but I DID used to make sprites as a test run years back. I got a few I will remake however, these for a few examples are what my early early spriting used to look like. (some resized to be easier to see, made bigger)

Machinery is gonna be a hard spot.


But yeah, some Gun Fight stuff, and some side stuff too. Gonna be trying to get even further into Gun Fight, and see about making my little additions to it work as I hope it will. But until then, that'd be all for this post.

4 views0 comments

댓글


bottom of page