top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Moof Project - Specified Animation Conditioning for the Map and In-Game Moofs

Hello again to everyone, we know the deal with the end of the week, and that is precisely what I am here for. Today is not all TOO much the biggest thing, but it's some progress I wanted to show and talk about.


Starting off with some smaller ended coding work, the Map Moof item is a simple one, just like a little walking icon for the map to select levels with, basic animations for standing still, and moving in the 4 key directions.


But the Map Moof moves in 8 directions, so it might be a wonder to why I only did 4 animation wise?


Well, I'm doing it similar to how a game like Stardew Valley, of which I got 100% on recently, does this kinda thing. And to explain it I'm using what I will call "Animation Priority" simply because I do not know the actual name.

What this means is I have an artificial "order of importance" for what animation of walking direction plays. In this current build it goes:

- Horizontal

- Vertical

- Idle


Diagonal Movement and Horizontal both use the Left/Right animations, similar to Stardew Valley, since it makes it look a bit better.. somehow, but it does. It also mirrors or unmirrors to accommodate for left-right motion


If no A or D keys are down, but you're pushing S or W, Vertical plays, only for direct up or down motion, but up and down have their own unique frames for movement


And if no movement key is down at all, then Idle is used, a simple one but much needed to be mentioned.


They're even sub-grouped by the Axis they're moving in, however there's one more bit of detail that's smaller ended and simpler to go over that I should quickly bring up, that being how they all have a "Set Max Speed" bit of action in them.


That one's a basic change, but it looked weird in some directions Moof on the Map would be moving in, like some directions felt too slow, some way too fast despite it being the same speed somehow. So it's more just a way to make it look cleaner..

Well that and for some reason one diagonal movement looked especially fast which was weird, weirder since when that was a problem all the Map Moof had for code before was just animation, so I don't even know what caused it, I just knew how to fix it.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Another plus side is that I actually did use the old walking sprites for the Horizontal animations here, which in my opinion, is a great way to get use of a what was made recently unused animation.

Said walking animation being shown in my earliest images of Moof sprites, shown on the top right as the row of 7 sprites. Having lost it's main use and gaining another, which I generally find to be pretty neat how things can change as they do.


While it's not the BIGGEST of changes, this does mean until I add either extra frames for Moof's Map Walking Sprites, or if I add map interactions in general, for now at least this DOES mean that the Map Moof is as done as he realistically can be currently.


This leaves more work time for the in-game Moof and enemies alike, hopefully maybe able to fix one enemy bug which I'll hopefully go over when talking about how it got fixed soon. However, said development only comes in time, so until next post, that'll be all from me for now.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page