top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Plarformer Progress - Moof Reworking; Separate, Controlled Enviroment for Moof Motion Testing

Hello one and all once more, new week means new post, and well.. today is definitely something different.


A while back I mentioned possibly going back to redo the Moof's coding since his seemed a bit disorganized, and generally could be done better, and while it's not that far in, I DID have an idea as to how to go around this problem.


Long story short, I made an entire side project just to have the Moof in a controlled environment that I could copy and paste back into the main project when it's done, calling it the Void if you will.

This area is just a test room of grid and floor to have Moof have a free space to roam, and in a separate project to have his code be un-tampered by the surrounding code of the main.


From in here is a place exclusive just for Moof to roam and test actions with, things like tightening the movement enough to feel good to use, fix animations, his dive, coyote time implementation, etc.


Downside is it's not the most filled in, a lot of test code and just basic "left key and A key moves left and mirrors or un-mirrors" kind of stuff, but I'm hopefully able to be more free to test unrestrained in this space.

I might be planning to, and hopefully can use this to rework the dive fully too, and also fix lingering problems like Moof's jump. These are things being trial and error'ed.. mostly error.


It's still a fresh enough work in progress to only where the basics are in, but I'm still working on this new change of method, so I'll have more to show later on.

For now at least, that'll be all from me at the moment.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page