top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Concept Progress - Title Screen Poses (Moof) and Scenic/Setting Sketches, Airship Exterior

Hello to everybody again, I'm back at it again,

My coding progress goes slow but steady, although the coding in visual aspects is minor in sense of viewing, being primarily attempts to fix animation bugs or smaller touching ups.


However while Im experimenting with that, and looking into finding out what I'm going to use in terms for my audio aspect of the project, the concept sketching/design aspects haven't been all too compromised in comparison.


So far it is more of posing/character and a bit of design,


To start with, I am back on the title screen design grind, trying to be dynamic but not overly complicated, one concept is to make it look like Moof is running over to his spot on the screen, to do this I've been working on rough poses to have him running, and the turn around on point.

I'm including the little cartoonish pitter patter short character run his sprites have too.

But this is a simple trio of a run, a hop, and a turn to pose under where the logo would be at.


I have had sketch concepts for a title screen in the past seen here, this will just be expanding on that more, hopefully being a step closer to full completion of the title screen as a whole.


Poses are simple enough, I dont need to edit the legs for the run since it's little round nubs, simple, easy, can work. The other thing is sort of a few things, story concept, external scenic concept, and panel concept (think like Sonic 2's ending was using them panels for the first half), kind of all at once?

Either way, I wanted to do something I've had in mind for a while and that was a proper 90s game styled shot for a credits/ending. And the sketch of something for it is this.

That, a trial of making the outside of Ashra's airship for the map, and a support lad who is much more side focused, for stuff like visualizing Moof going from the Isle of Moof to Prisma, and from Prisma to her airship.


He will have much, MUCH less sprites than any of the bigger role characters, as most of it will be map based, and maybe just flying for said end-of-game shots, no need for control coding or anything, just cut and dry, add and done action.


Ashra's own ship in the background is something being tried out manually, airship planning is a bit wonky, but I'll be experimenting that too for at LEAST the bottom half.


I've already got a rough idea for the interior in the form of level layout sketches, having been mentioned in the past, in the bottom right of here.

This progression in general has up and down sides respectively:


Upsides is visuals are coming along smoothly, Downsides is coding isn't as much so, BUT, it's getting progress slowly but steadily, trialing work but I am hoping it will all be worth it when it is done.


The coding and music I have ideas for, but need to actually get trial run, so hypothesizing the methods so far I will be working with, when everything comes along more, I will love to share the results with you all.


Unfortunately however, said trials come in time, so I will have to update it later on.

So at least currently, that'll be all from me for now, will update more soon.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page