top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Ashra Concept Art and Bugs Noted for Fixing

Hello again fellow GameGen inhabitants, we're here again for another day of weekly recaps. Today I've been a bit slow in regards to bug-lsting (two key ones found so far, maybe two minor ones) to fix, but that doesn't exactly mean I have NOTHING to show, a lot probably not, but I still have some to show regardless.


My week is between bug analyzing and visual planning for sketch-to-sprite posing work, but for once it's not for Moof, I've actually been trying to do some work for Ashra, the fox gal that's meant to be the antagonistic role for the project.

For her it's simple stuff, some poses that'd be used in project like the flip, knockback, and top left charging poses, some for an idea of movement like the bottom left for a method of her maybe floating, and the two right sketches for a front and back of a floating vehicle of sorts as a substitute for the bottom left sketch.


My Buffmoof character also has one, albeit just for a run, but better than none. Ironic that I take a break from sketching the playable Moof to have one of the characters worked on instead to just be a bigger, scarier Moof, but hey, it works in the long run right?

Moof himself has plenty of sketches I still am working uses as sprites into when they're deemed needed, but he's been the only one to really get attention in that regard, I'm slowly fixing that, and will get pixel forms of these soon enough too and will hopefully show them off as well soon enough.


---------------------------------------------------

As for the bugs to fix, I've so far found out about four I need to keep tabs on.


Major ones being: - Grounded Enemies falling through the jump-through platforms when they're not meant to go through the floor at all. Most likely a bit of mixed code I've not seen yet.

- Moof walking into a corner doesn't give a push animation but flickers around and messes with his position in the level in a way that looks wrong. Likely due to sprite resolutions or hitbox possibly, not sure.


The Minor issues:

- Moof's Dive needs to work the same way wether or not a key is held down, as of now the dive without holding a key stops midair before falling, this is likely due to how the motion pushing force is set up, experimentation needed.


- Moof's hit has minor oddities in regards to flickering position, likely due to a general knockback, keyboard influence, and/or the hit animation itself, all need to be tested.

---------------------------------------------------


I've been listing them so far, but I'll do my best to actually correct them as I find out more about it and about how to actually fix them all, will try to update accordingly. The listing helps with focusing them down attention wise, but I'm still testing around and seeing what both is a bug, and also is but doesn't provide an ironically fun or useful benefit.


Like Stardew Valley does, which I mentioned before, where ConcernedApe willingly kept some around due to finding they provided a feature that people actually could use and enjoy. However I only really can update in time, so I'll be looking around and doing my best to have more to show you for next week.


So until next time, that'll be all from me, and will see ya then.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page