top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Brake Animation/Events and Taller Sprite Testing

Heya once again to everybody, a new week means new stuff to talk about, I'm back in it with refining Moof more and adding his animations properly, while there is snags, it is progressing. That I will get into context about shortly.


Moof's main changes so far are stats to be better feeling to control, and expressive animations to be more lively while doing so, as I am working on both, part of the latter is in the braking animation, hitting the opposite key (or maybe at least letting go of the run key, am testing this still) to have him do a silly looking brake pose.


The good news is I have it mostly working and already had a sprite for this made some time back.


The bad news is it's only MOSTLY working, as shown here:


Yeaaaaah, it has a whole thing of not exactly stopping, in animation and in proper swapping of motion, when the direction of intent is no longer in motion when holding the opposite direction key, that and the same direction of the animation gets used sometimes whether left OR right moving which is odd since my animation triggers have been pretty straight forward.


It's still being worked on long story short.


Alongside that for being worked on, spritework. More specifically, taller character spritework, it's rough, but it's getting properly there in regards to posture and scale, ranging from about twice the height of the average Moof.

Details are lacking but it's form itself is getting there.


I've already had sketches for these made in the past for Ashra and Pierce so far, so it's not like I'm working from nothing once the time comes I can make more proper poses and motions.

Good thing for prepping in advance!


The sprites should be easier than the coding, as it's my more familiar expertise area,

So to both of these, I will be working on these more, and showing the details as I get along.

For now at least, that'll be all from me.

1 view0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page