top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Cannon Enemy Design and Spritework, Noteworthy Differences from Simple Changes

Hello once again, a new week calls for new developments, and I've got some stuff to show. This week and the last has been about building up characters that weren't just the playable Moof, however this week specifically has been more in focus to the enemy types to be seen in-game.


So far I have the basic grounded enemies and 4 forms of the flying enemy depending on how I want their flight to be, and so far as past posts have shown and that I will re-show for the sake of ease to see without going back to old posts, they're going pretty well, sprite wise,


These two images being examples from past posts of enemy varieties, and the smaller V1 grounded enemy compared to the slightly bigger, rounder V2s

Still dealing with a bug with the grounded enemies being worked on but that's trial and error.


However, I've also shown a while back I had a good few variants of enemies sketched out to work on more at some point.


Some worked on a bit, some having more than others, and some not having really any work yet at all, but all with their purposes if I go through with them.

I've got the flying guy shown on the bottom-left, I have some of the bottom-right done too, and bottom-middle if I wanted to go through with is just a simple edit of the base enemy.


However it's the top-left I am talking about. The one with the big ol' cannon on top of it, the goo-guy gunner. I have basically been working on a whole mini sprite sheet in it of itself for this one specifically, in two variants also.

The silver tipped cannon is for slow projectiles, red tipped is for faster projectiles.

(Maybe 25% faster or something, I don't know yet, will trial and error that when I get the grounded enemy bug fixed at least)


I've provided two sets of charging shots, including a blink that'd play 3 times before a shot, the shooting sprite, and the cannon in angles for post shooting when it wiggles a bit before restarting the animation.


I also provided a work in progress set of sprites for the cannon holder, charging the shot as he braces more and more for it, and post shotting with a flash of white and a surprised face to him.


Alongside that is a pair of projectiles, one matching the goo color where I can make it more fluid, one gray where I can make it an iron cannon-ball. I've yet to decide what projectile to have this actually *fire*,

I also am maybe planning between whether Moof can bounce off of the projectile or not. Could add some kinda timing based element to bounce off a shot to get from one area to another.


The cannon itself WAS worked on a fairly bit o' long time ago, although compared to the metal of the bucket from this pic alone, it looked.. not as great as it could be. So I'd also like to believe that this newer version above is a definite step up in design alone.

I'll work on bugs more and see about implementing this guy in full soon enough when he's best able to be attended to, no side distractions getting in his way hopefully.


Bug fixing, cannon implementing, and maybe making the cannon's projectile able to be bounced off of for some platforming challenge, a small to-do list, kinda. Goals to work forward to for me and Moof alike.


I'll develop further and see maybe about getting some screen-caps or screen recordings of what results come up while I work on it, however the results will only come in due time from now, so until then that'll be all from me.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page