top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Concepts, Some More Sprites, and... Music Tests?

Welcome once again to everyone, today is the day where I give more updates of the evergrowing Moof project, and today is (hopefully) something that can be called a step up for the development of this game.


The goo-entities probably have the most of an update in regards to actually knowing what I want out of them visually, so far that started with a new concept sheet, which actually looked kind of nice.

Having stuff like machinery to be in for flight, a faster variant of walking, and shapes like spiked, glove fist, and even icy/spikes and normal spiked of which could be given their own variants of function if I use both.


Along with the concept sketching, while it's not too much further yet, it's more designated and less random planning, the sprites.

The glove sprite on the bottom right is a little more shaped like one, albeit still able to be smoother maybe, it has shape to it. There's also sprites for falling and a cannon based on one of the sketches of the goo-entities, on the bottom left in regards to which in this post.


I like the cannon, but will definitely update the logo, the logo on this is only a test for now.


Also some unknown sketch of some lake dragon, but I don't know if or how I would use him for this so.. at least just a kind of test sketch of the idea.

Got a newer art program within the few weeks from it being on sale, Clip Studio Paint, so it's neat to test my grounds with this after using Firealpaca for over half a decade. It's fun.

So safe to say that's coming along good so far.


Alongside the visual stuff, there is something being worked on with the audible aspect of things.

The only issue for the moment is I can't send it to here without a soundcloud so.. I should have it provided to a proper area within GameGen to have it be preview-able.


Safe to say though, making music with Beepbox is probably not the method I want to go with. Seems a bit too chiptune/8-bit exclusive for the look and feel I want to go for, will look into options for music that isn't.. that.


I plan on getting a YouTube account or something made soon to be able to keep these in the blogs, but it's a temporary Plan B.

For now though, that will have to be all I can share, some aspects are still being worked on and not yet too presentable so.. until next time!

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page