top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Coyote Time Progression, Timing Functional and Test Run Video

Heya again, new week calls for new developments, and today's a follow up from a previous post. It's more talk about the Coyote Time function, and in this case, how I got it working.


So, to recap for anyone new or who's not seen the last post,

Coyote Timing, a mechanic popularized and if I recall started by Celeste, is a feature that gives a brief time period when walking off of a ledge for those with delayed or generally not calculated on the second reactions to still have a small sliver of time to jump, even when not actively touching the ground, it's VERY brief but it helps more than you would expect.


Shown as an idea here without necessarily ALL of the animations set up just yet, the function however being present, and functioning:



I wanted to use this feature to help others with my Moof Project by giving them a helping hand window also, and last week I had shown what was a rough idea of the code in testing, THIS time however I feel like I have it refined enough to not only not allow for any loopholes to give more jumps than needed, but also to properly calculate the timing window for when you can and can not do the jump.



Fairly simple, but effective, using timing windows, a global counter that gets set up, set into and past the windows to block loopholing methods, and reset the timer respectively, Coyote Timing can be.. surprisingly simple a feature to add when getting it down on base, but surprisingly useful.


The only thing I need to do in this factor is maybe touch up the jump stat itself, but that's nothing to do with the feature, and more the raw platforming stats themselves.


The test run itself shown above shows the feature in use and so far it kind of speaks for itself in my opinion as a so far success of the base implementation. I will refine more of it soon, but most refinement just follows through with touching up him himself overall and not 100% necessarily it, but I feel there's still some touch up I can do with it itself, if so I will relay more about it.


Still finishing up more of the Moof himself, and updates only come in time, so for now at least, that'll be all from me for this post.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page