top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Coyote Timing Code Implementation and Test Wallpaper Sketches

Heya to you all, a new week means a new post from me.


This week is mostly just code-working and image based stuff, per the usual, but for the primary coding factor, I've been setting up some of the Coyote Time jumping events, while it's still work in progress in regards of status, I have some of the groundwork being applied.

The idea is using a system of a 'jump timer' to enable and disable double jump coding to simulate the effect of allowing the window of timing of the singular jump,


I'd set the timer to 0 on normal cases, and allow a window where when falling it'll count up and have the ability to jump be there, but also to avoid the double jump factor of it, I set the jump timer itself to a number where it should, theoretically, never be put into effect through the jump, only from walking off of a ledge.


While it's not necessarily 100% done, the base idea is there to get the feature to work and I will be refining it til it is how I want it to be working.


The secondary thing however being worked on, and as a side thing instead of the coding above being the main, is more image based.

A small premise, media like comic/manga covers, or something I'm more familiar with in Mortal Kombat Armageddon via their menu screens, would have the occasional covers with this idea of showing a character and some form of "rival" or similar role.


This being the idea I meant.


So I wanted to try this out myself, in this, I ended up sketching three of these, one for each of the 3 big main characters.



One main face and name, and two either rival roles or in Moof's case, since he's just a little goober who probably doesn't understand that concept, he's just got the main antagonist and the probably most persistent to Moof henchperson.

But Ashra and Dial's alike make sense for them more directly.


I'd have had it more progressed if this were the main thing being worked on, however the coding above is, albeit less shown there since it's a lot more trial and error to make it all work.


I do have some of the code working though, and will have to work further to make it cleaner, and fully optimal, however that's something that gets worked on rather than already being done, so I'll have to show more next week.


So until then, that'll be all from me for now.

2 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page