top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Dive Method Testing, 'Method A' Spritework and 'Method A' Coding Base

Hello to everybody once more, so, last week I had mentioned working on the dive being revamped, and having had provided three cases of ideas as to how it could work,

One directional, one default/universal dive, and one that's similar to the universal dive, but also has a little arc bounce at the end.


I have the spritework being implemented for the arrow method, the universal arrows being there, as I can set the animations of direction to be acted on via key input that can have one arrow be highlighted and the other two unused arrows can remain at about 30% opacity.


This way I can have one object that just shifts it's arrow position around instead of the alternative of having a transparent arrow sheet and a highlighted arrow just set to position onto the semi-clear arrows, which I know are both options that could be taken.

The problem so far is that, while my coding is on base, yes, the animation of the DiveSpin I call it seems to freeze in place so far.

Theoretically I can only give it to either the fact it reacts weirdly to the seizing of movement as I have X and Y momentum completely stop, or something with holding the key down despite triggering once while true still plays the animation strangely, or in this case not at all.

The stopping momentum is just this so far, not the dive itself as the release key briefly will use the older code to at least simulate a launch, but the on hold and on release to the rest of the movement and events,

The basic specifics to this method is shown, the arrows spawning and destroying, the air freeze that stops when the key is released, the basics are there.


But it IS only one of the methods shown in this image last week,

I want to get a build on base for them all and have a "on use" testable way to see if they are fun to work with before refinement comes into question, which I hope will be easy enough and not too taxing a method.


My methods lean towards A and C being the most likely to go with, so they will be getting their methods made first. We'll likely be seeing more of them soon, keyword is soon.


I'll be working more on this, and sorry it's not a lot, the method approached is new to me so it's been within a mix of experimentation and theory building, but I'll try to have more next time, so for now at least, that will be all from me for now.

2 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page