top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Enemy Design Continuation and Shop-keep (Nightmare) Concept Work; Seit.

Hello to all of you once again, I have been off a few days and unfortunately missed the last portfolio day, but am here now, and with that, here with stuff to show to all who've found here.


One bit of my recent work focuses on more work of the enemy variations, and making sprites for the rest of the types shown in artwork sketches from before, and mentioning working also on things like Spiked enemies, of which I do have some spritework of.


First it was the cannons, then the trap/glove variants, now I've went to something simpler and made the spiked variants, which realistically is just the normal enemies but spikes on em.

I'm not 100% sure if I want to go with the top or bottom, top is a consistent color, but bottom is more visible. Maybe I'll make a third variant where it's still the purples, but gradually getting lighter and lighter purples.

I'll experiment further and show more if it works, or just run with one of these two.


This now means every enemy has sprite forms EXCEPT for the top-middle enemies with the walking-platform mechs attached. Four down, one to go.


Alongside the enemies, I've been concept working on outside level designs as well, mentioned for a while wanting to make shop-keep designs, but thought that I should do something for one particular world.


I have one lad in design for every other world akin to a traveling salesman, but Ashra's own domain feels like deserves some kind of unique feel to it, the one place the other lad isn't able to set up shop at.


And since Ashra's airship would be a particularly nightmarish domain, I went with this lad, being called Seit, a name suggested from a friend.

The idea was a being with a sort of unusual face/head type of main focus, in this regard, keeping the head in a 2 dimensional state where most of it's action is the rotation to give either the eyes or the mouth more focus respectively.


A historic researcher of sorts, who'd lived more history than he's researched, and with him, maybe some special items buyable at endgame only progression. In idea, I would want them to be level key(stones), but realistically that's open for working on.

And careful eyes in the shop UI sketch could maybe notice a subtle figure under the bottom right of the shop panel, that'd be in idea just someone for the background to make it less empty-void feeling, a friend also name suggested him on the right, Omen.

Omen's location is temporary for the sketch, I'll likely find a better spot because where he is in there is very unable to spot. But I'm liking the idea of an eerie fellow who still sells things.


I'd need to get my resolution for the Moof project and make some extra large sprites for the shop-keeps, the shop backgrounds, and a UI sometime, concepts are easy, it's about making the sprites that'll be more interesting a case. I'll likely save that for after making the level assets, first the main playable pieces, then the side bits.


These are all bits I need to work on more though, and that comes in time, so at least until then, I'll be back to update you more when I can.

That'll be all from me for now.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page