top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Enemy Types, Adding Sprites and new Varieties for Different Purposes

Hello again to all readers, last week I talked about sprite-working for the cannon-wielding enemies, in form of it's own sprite sheet for the enemy holding said cannon, and the cannon itself in angles from being fired. Logically the next step is the other types of enemies from past sketches.


This time around was for an enemy that'd pop out of the ground to try to attack the player, either used for surprise, or possibly timing based interactions with it's shape being able to make temporary walls.


The sprites are progressing pretty well too, enough for the shoot up of the comical fist, and the reset til it can activate again... more or less, but I feel like it's getting there.

I'm maybe just missing the in-between sprites for the last sprite to wrap back to the first, will get those made soon to be a BIT of a smoother transition.


The base partially uses the stomped default enemy sprites, and there's 4 instances of a proper glove-headed base.I could have just done a spike or something but this is sillier.

The idea I went for is less a shot to retract, but more throwing upwards a big glob of itself in that glove-like shape, before gravity brings it back to frame 1.. If I want to use it either sideways or upside down then I'd need to make some notable changes to the retracting sprites however, but this is in the idea it's just the one way.


In idea I will be trying to make it use a specific hitbox in regards to timing and positioning, where you can jump off the glove itself when it's momentum starts to slow down/fall.

This is only theoretical however, as maybe I'll find a better strategy down the line of implementation for the enemy.


This image came from last week and even a post further back, but I'm showing it again to show the sketches to what's been put in.

We've got the bucket, cannon, and trap enemy sketches brought into a sprite form.


The bottom middle spiked enemy is a simple addition, and the top middle will need more planning before I make it's sprite form, but I have an idea for it that could prove unique enough to work. where it'd be a moving platform once you step on the enemy piloting the mech itself to cross spiked floors or something, I don't know 100% just yet but it's an idea.


My gelatinous enemies are a creature meant to be multi-purposed, one little blobby guy can be so many shapes, sizes, and ride/use so many things, they're a perfect being for variation. Said variation I plan on making much use of the opportunity of.


I'll keep working on them however and show all of you what comes from them, but that's something that happens in time, so for now at least, that'll be all from me.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page