top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Ice Background Touch-up, Background Concept Sketching, and Pondering how to go around the Project Planning

Heyo to everyone, back at it again with another blog update post.


So, not too long ago I mentioned working on the iceland background (pending a name for location), where this was the older prior picture shown.


Originally when posting this I had mentioned I would be planning to edit the mountains in the back to have a specific detail in line to some plans for the events of level transition, well since then, I managed to do something to it.


In context for the setting,

The Mountain Top hasn't always been that way, events around there made it that way.


Alongside this, the Prisma Underground, and the Isle of Moof backgrounds, I've gotten a few tilesets that still need background work, primarily for what has a tileset, some kinda design for the Desert/Sandy tiles (I will see if I can do more than just a desert cause cliche).


However, this follows up to something background wise, concept sketching for backgrounds in advance so I have a semi-planned out route in advance.

I've been doing a few maybe sketches to get ideas of visual settings, not too many, only two, but still enough to show. One was a in planning one, the other is only a maybe.


The maybe labeled one is a hilltop setting as a simpler 4 layer background


The other is a in mind location but a maybe planned sketch of the location, Ashra's own ship.

Possibly having animated pieces, but also only surprisingly a simpler 4 layer setting.

The time stamp in the corners is a specific labeled choice, because in mind I would realistically want to have the sky itself conveyed as a roughly 24-36 hour period of time as a subtle detail if I can help make it work.


This leads to another smaller problem, I like doing coding but recently cant help feel like my stuff has been not only a bit disorganized, but a bit too all over to easily change the coding around for adjustments,


I want to make an itch preview of at least one level, but also don't think I will have the time proper to redo some of this code without development taking even longer, especially solo, Audio already has that issue but worse, so it's just adding to that.


I have no idea what to do for this, but something there feels iffy, and could be done possibly smoother/better, but I don't know how to go about it by myself.


So I have to figure that out while continuing my work for the style of the settings, however updates there only happen in time, so for now at least that'll be all from me for now.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page