top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress, In-Advance Spritework for Ice and Snow Environments

Hello again people reading, we've reached Friday once more, and I as the norm, have some more to show for it, albeit it feels a bit of a slower week for progression than I thought and/or wanted it to be.


For most of the project, I've been at least in a minor scale also planning in advance for other functions or sprites while working on my current pieces being implemented, so when I got to the stuff after in full, I'd have something already to start off with.


One of these was specific environmental stuff, more specific, settings and specific stuff that they'd have or have Moof doing in them. And while it's not as much as I'd want off the bat, I do have some Moof sprites and tiles for a snow themed land I've had in mind for a while.

The rocks are placeholders, but I tried to make them more blue at least until a finalized specialized is more done. Realistically COULD use the ice tiles on the right as the rocks, but that's got it's own special use, should I get it working right.


The concept of slippy slide-y ice via an invisible box on-top of the ice that when in contact with alters Moof's acceleration, deceleration and the likes tempts me for nefarious ice level deeds.


The ice does share this environmental tile making idea I did a bit back with preparing for the Isle of Moof levels in the same manner.

Or for the sand, I can use it even further for a Desert setting if I REALLY wanted to.. Maybe.


They both share the added, collision-less tiles for just being put on the floor to make it not flat topped, The Island tiles use higher grass blades, the snow area tiles have 3 snow tiles, central, and ones for the left and right edges.


Between the tiles and Moof's spritesheet being.. THIS,

It's neat to see how far everything feels like it is so far. So many Moof sprites alone, just for one lad doing things, sure some is unused sprites, but they're minimal in comparison to used.


Last thing I want to show is more of the Teleporter sprites from last time, they've grown a bit further since last shown

Outside of there being a light adjustment to the shading of the machinery, I also have been adding a Semi-Crystalized variant for possible Prisma City use.


I mean, I DID want to get Moof to have a way to access Ashra's Airship, so this likely could be how I manage to get that done thinking about it now, I can see this working out pretty well.


Most of my work has been sprite work this week, so outside of these, there's not too much else YET unfortunately, but I'll work on hopefully having more to show for next time.

So, at least for now at least, that'll be all from me.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page