top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Land-shaping and overall Map Designing

Eyo to you all again, Friday is around once more and with it comes the telling of my deeds this week.


The week at least was mostly conceptual and actual sprite working for the map, or more so the Isle of Moof specifically.

For comparison, this is the old one made of tiles, made it look too box-y in a lot of places, and in cases like the cliff, just overall weird or unnatural shaped.

I know that having an unaffected from time blue child and a demon fox of untold possible horrors isn't natural either, but I have limits there too.


But overtime I've been working on making it better, most of it being recently.

At first it was trying to redo the tiles to be more detailed, but the box-y issue still stood then:

My first attempt of retexturing/spriting also had some issues, these being more like bushes and the colors almost TOO light/pastel and just weird in my opinion, think of it more so as a warm up:

What I'm trying this time is sort of a mix of the both,

Retexturing, and custom sprite work together, with some more focus to keeping the color palette closer to the first screenshot's map work, more or less.


The old being the left, the Work In Progress new on the right,

The cliffs are less static, they come with angles and natural detail, although the rocky parts I will recolor, easily doable via palette swapping and the color being it's own layer. The shore/beach ends are smoother, water lines on the edges, as is the grass as able to be kinda seen, ignore the base blue, this is pre animated water which is already made but not applied. and the trees are still the only bigger "maybe" point, I don't know how to feel about either the test new trees just yet before scattering them on the island.

Previously mentioned has been the cliffside but just incase will also show this alongside the rest to show where the cliff texture also comes from, hense maybe needing to adjust the darker colors for the cliff.


The Isle of Moof is going to be beautiful, it's their home, so I want it to look good, they deserve the best.


Although at least at the moment, that will be all for me, so I'll update more as I get it further along, so until then, that's all for today.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page