top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Map Sprite Moofs and (Possible?) Boss Sprite Concept; Dominique

Heyo to you all again, been a while since the last post, and this is my first post of the new 2024 year, so I want to show some more development happening this first week of the year.


I'm having a bit of an off period when it comes to coding, and trying to see about fixing that, and audio/music is definitely a no go from me, however the visuals always have room to grow, and one thing with these visuals stuck out in mind.


Moof's Map sprites were in mind a temporary, made using his in-level sprites as something that'd work in the moment, however I knew eventually I'd need to get to the sprites specific for the map, and that's where this comes in handy.

Teeny tiny little Map Moof sprites, with one of his idle in-level sprites as a size comparison,


I want to believe that this smaller form of him, in combined use with the map sprites themselves like this one, will help better convey scale for location to Moof, kind of like the original Mystery Dungeon friend zones, or Mario World's world map.

In mind I can have Moof's directions be shifted by if he moves in 90 degree increments of 0-360, however doing it as an exact 0-90, 91-180, etc. might not be the best route,


In mind I had something more like 45-135 where it's less diagonal and more direct left-right up-down wedges, that way it's more a direct direction that also alternates sprite direction when motion is a majority horizontal or vertical, allowing diagonal motions to maybe work well enough and not look weird..

Or I can make diagonal sprites if that all doesn't work, I don't know, it's still theory-building.


That being said,

Speaking of sprite-making and scaling to other things, I've also been trying to make boss sprites a bit back. going back to give them better texture and detail, however there is one lingering issue..

I'm not entirely sure how the scaling fits here considering Moof as he is would stand 3 feet tall, Dominique here feels too big for that I feel, which is worrying.

I've gotta possibly work on making him a bit smaller, but in the meantime I'll be also sketching poses for him and the others like I had before.


This is something I'll have to look into further, maybe attempt to make a smaller version and see how well that goes, I'll relay any attempts there to these blog posts for others to see and judge upon.

So at least until next time, that will be all from me for now.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page