top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Moof Damage, Obstacles now ACTUALLY Obstacles

Heya one and all, today is the day of the week where I provide more insight to the Moof project escapades and developments. This time around is to further the enemy attacks/being attacked system by giving the enemies a chance to strike back.


To do this I have finally started getting a damage system to be put in place for the Moof player himself, so far it's about halfway there, all I need is the knockback and a powerup, but we now have him being able to be hurt, health, some invincibility from being hit, and respawning when health reaches 0.

In short, he can now attack enemies and be attacked by them just the same. And this applies to the whole "Enemies" family just the same when more variants get added.


There is no game over sequence JUST yet, I wanna make something stylized for it, and no checkpoint system exists just yet to link them to eachother either. However these will be soon implemented and connected when able to.


The families of behaviors will easily cut the amount of work needed to add new enemies down efficiently, since then all I'd need to add is the unique features of their specialized movement since universal hurt/hit effects can already be done early on, albeit needing a knockback for being hit and visual effect for the stomp itself.


Since Moof also is getting a hurt system, this also means I can apply stage hazards that route back to the same "damaged" status, and make a powerup to add another hit to the health now that it actually works.

So now some of my checklist so far is gonna be to make a knockback and finish the damage system alongside touchups and fixing the bug with the goo enemies' turning around problem. But on the plus side I now have the doors open to getting enemies made code-wise even faster than I have been before, so I got that going for me.


Current to do list: - Finish the Moof being hit functions of knockback and sprites, maybe a powerup to make him take 2 hits instead of 1

- Fix air controls to make jumping more fun and hitting enemies easier

- Fix the enemy error with their wall-bump function

- Add stage obstacles like spikes or other enemy styles (flying, spiked, etc.)


Already getting other level concepts made via other programs outside of C3 so I can have a base idea for what I am doing later on as well, other levels already getting pre-made concepts. The rest of the aspects on the other hand can only update with time, so until the next post, I'll keep working to get even further.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page