top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Re-Spriting WIP and Re-Spriting Plans

Heya to everyone once again, and welcome back.

This week I've primarily focused on the visuals of the game while having finally gotten one of my major coding issues done, general sprucing up the looks.


It's not TOO major of things, Planning on reworking the base goo-enemy's turning around sprite because the placeholder is one frame and only works for wall specific stuff, when I could have it be more universal and allow points to, like Red Koopas, turn around on ledges.

It works, but it could be more versatile, and animated overall, it's cute though.


And reworking the lives icon for the HUD at the moment, frankly I need to redo all of the HUD but still. This is the old one for an idea.

I already need to finish the font as is, but I wanted to have the icon be better too. Something seemed off, I could make it fit the character better, be a bit more cartoonish, and overall cute.

That's when I got an idea.

"These icons are usually in rings or boxes, right? I could work with that", and work I did.


Frankly, I'd like to think I did good with this one:

He's goofy, he puts his face through the ring itself, I'm gonna adjust shading soon and test it ingame, but I wanna feel it conveys the cuter aesthetic.


I need to replace the font of the HUD still, and make the new goo sprites, but it's a time for visual retouching so far, a small break from the coding endeavors just to pretty the scene.

I'll get more to show, but that only comes in due time, I'll do my best to get more to show, but that only comes in due time. So until then, that'll be all from me, for now at least.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page