top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress, Seit Development, Headsketches, Idle Animations, and Shop System Plotting

Hello once again, so last post I mentioned trial and erroring what I can with animation via the tools I recently got into using, at the moment a lot of it's progress was mainly quick experimentation, but I have a bit to show in regards to the current goal in terms of concepts and some head motion tests for Seit.


Last time I had showed some of an idle animation, showing here as a refresher to the idea of what's been going on:

I had mentioned before the animations would mainly be within his head and hands as he's behind the desk to be yanno.. a shopkeeper. And I also believe I mentioned how his head would "rotate" more like clock hands due to his weird structure, if not my bad.


The ears go up as the nose points back down and vice versa, same motions applied to the cheek tufts of his going from the side of to the bottom of his face. All together in a quick motion to provide this result.

The idea will be to make the shop screen have him as about four separate objects to have animations to, his Head, each Hand, and the Torso. And animations like talking for the head and the rotation be a part of the objects.


Speaking of such, about said shop system, I'm getting more concept for Seit and it in general.

Seit being given level keys for some more difficult trials.

Also some sketches of him talking and other general references for face and mostly his unusual hands,

Which reminds me of one lingering problem, I have no idea what to make Moof's visualized "Second Hit" item. Or more specifically, how to VISUALIZE a second hit so people can tell if they actually have it or not without fundamentally changing Moof's sprites.

I'll hopefully get that figured out while working on Seit more.


Later on hopefully I'll be able to show off him being properly implemented how I am hoping to have him be. Been working on dialogue for text that helps emphasize his more cryptic nature, but I want to show it off when he's able to utilize his environment. The UI should be much faster since it's just stationary, I only need to do it once hopefully, but it still needs to be designed properly too, after Seit gets his basic essentials. As the first image of the gif shows, I already have a rough UI too, so there is progress there.


I only need the sketches at least that I can add in to test out coding onto and replace with finished stuff later, so that's something that can be looked forward to. The worrying part isn't making the animated frames, it'll be more likely the process of coding them into the game.


However, that I can only really do in time, so that'll be all for me for now at least.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page