top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Sketches to Sprites

Eyo to all reading, another new week for new developments, visual and likewise. This week is no different in regards to having something to show, albeit being just visually.


Last week, and by extension the week before that among other times I've mentioned the concept of sketchwork to spritework, enemies, scenery, and player Moof alike.

This was a recent sketch-sheet, I also had 1 sprite of the push animation in the page last week too, where the feet were replaced to be more zoom-effect looking to fit the character more.


Since then it's been about continuing this idea out, the sketch process.

I've made more sprites for the pushing animation to have it fully running (about to implement it into the project soon fully, at the moment it's in, but it works oddly), amongst a base sprite for 2 other animations, both of the snowboarding ones.


The efforts being shown below:

I even included the matching board sprites needed for them so far, embedded in snow and at an angle whilst being ridden.


The push sprite has also had somewhat of an update, the V1 was shown last week, but just incase here it is again:

I adjusted the head's angle to be cuter and more like the sprite, even using the cheek squish, I made the body not so small looking, and changed the arms to match the sketch as well.


Alongside the Moofs, I also went back to sprites I made years ago to see about remaking them, back when I was self-experimenting Construct 2 when I wasn't in GameGen and just winging it.


I had made a few asset pieces, one of which was a teleporter. So I got the V1 and V2 together to show the development of style since then

I'm better at living things over machinery/metals, but I would like to think I'm making it work well enough. Still making reflections work but it's coming along well enough.

Some gold trim to highlight the ends and the lights, and a silver to capture the steel feel.

I've been getting a lot more into wanting to flesh out settings and characters, which explains the last few weeks for me being a lot of this, I want to keep making the personality of these shine through visuals and atmosphere, while also trying to make the coding work, but that'd have to come in time.


I'll keep doing my best until next post to make more to show off for those reading, but until then, that'll be all from me for now.

1 view0 comments

留言


bottom of page