top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Slide Function and Effectiveness Work in Progress

Hello all once again, today is a new day to update on the Moof project progress. Recently I had shown the fact Moof was not only able to slide but also jump off from the slide, however, in that post it wasn't really fleshed out in function. He would have been stuck in the slide animation, or the jump off animation with few exception, but I managed to get it more fleshed out and working closer to full function.


Now the slide ending and jumping out from a slide will end in you returning to your idle state. Slight issue where sometimes movement stops outright, I'm working on that.

He can slide, he can dive, he can spin out of the slide, and he can explore all with ease, Moof.


Along being able to return to gameplay off of a slide or slide-jump, this also works when slide-jumping into enemies.


Even able to dive out of the bounce, however I am making the deceleration fix for this too. I could realistically make harder secret areas that requires jump diving from enemy to enemy with this kind of movement if I wanted to.


A lot of the initial problems have been fixed, albeit a few minor ones exist in it's place for this mechanic, mostly just re-enabling movement and fixing momentum. But it's coming along smoothly enough. I can make levels far easier around Moof's moof-ments when they're all done, so levels can be more diverse.


Most of this comes with time though, and so far this time is resulting in great progress, so I shall be able to hopefully update more about it in future blog posts, until next time though, that'll be all from me.

2 views0 comments

Komentáře


bottom of page