top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Concepts - Storyboard Continuation and Universal Prop Design Sketches

Updated: May 31

Eyo once more, we know what the time of the week is again, it's time for more developmental progress. Last time I was indulging in storyboarding to give a proper write-out to the storytelling and world building, I'm still continuing in on that for where I feel it's likely gonna be necessary alongside something else I will go over in a second.


Taking cues from things like Sonic 3/Knuckles/Mania with the ingame cutscenes for quick, inbetween level/world snippets.

Which is an easy thing to add as a simple disabling of player inputs, set location stops, and applicable action to make a scene work out.


Things like this I can add likely to connect the levels/areas better together with, make them more natural a transition than just fading into the next space. Especially if I can use sprites I likely already had made for a majority of the process like Moof's normal animations anyways.


So this would make an intro, ending, and small in-game thing between mostly the end of a world and the beginning of another, conveying a natural story of the exploration Moof goes through.


Alongside the story planning, I've got a little bit of re-sketching for universal assets for levels or specialized map locations for the view from the map.


Things like a redesign of the end of level goalpost, possible checkpoints, map markers, and map assets for locations in general.


I've even gotten a pair of potential sketches for the 'wings' of the end of level goalpost. One being more traditional wings, one being something sillier with the Moofs involved in the design directly, both using silver due to the main Muffin statue treasure already being Gold.


The Checkpoints so far between a smaller flag, or holograms with symbols for when activated or not, the Map Tiles are between normal blips or spiked to look more menacing for conveying boss tiles.


Then there's a few map markers for unique stuff outright, landmarks primarily, it's not the biggest but it's useful none the less.


Refinement and storytelling, the two big goals I'm going through so far, though trial and error I do want to make this all work out.

I'll inform more about how it progresses as it does, though that is something I can only show later on, for now at least though, that'll be all from me for the time.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page