top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - World Map Sketching and Listing Possible Ideas for Gameplay Design

Hello again, new day, and moreover new week means new posting of progress, this time it's a bit of a few fields.


Some of what I've done is a continuation to what the in-between world ingame clips would mutually rely on, the layouts of the worlds themselves. In this case this is the world maps themselves in sketch form.

It's more the overall idea of how landmarks and structure would be laid out if done in a one screen (or two for Ashra's ship for effect) frames. Landmarks, level dots, overall feeling if I can convey such a thing in sketch form.


Rocky Plateau/Neon Cityscape, Snowy Mountain Field and Peak, Dense Jungle with Haunted Mansion, and Desert with a Pyramid for all of Prisma.

From the Isle of Moof to four areas of the bigger Prisma landscape, and ending up at Ashra's own ship, the Moofs shall explore as they see fit.


As for the Moof project itself, it has it's own chain of thought processing for just what I should, or want to do, so I began to make possible notes of thoughts. At least so far they're on note app format, but they exist none the less. As for how that's going so far:

Yeah they're kind of all over, but I am trying to still separate segments as they're seen fit, keeping mutual enough points together.


Ive got things for wether Maps or Huds are better, possible minigames and how they can work, what to do about dives, shops, etc. All slowly building up together for a proper strategy of action.


Part of this for a freaky lad's visual style will involve in part learning to do some Blender stuff, and I already have some concept of the one lad who'd get this in question, and I think by the sketches it's justifiable why I want this freak of nature to have the questionably more detailed nature of design compared to the rest of the Moof Project's pixel styling.

so that'll be fun if I go that route.


My key goal is a full structured plan of action so I'm not bouncing from topic to topic of what I'm doing, although bigger writting blocks aren't my strongest suit so it might be a bit disorganized at first but I am hoping it's just that, "at first".


I have plans I want to do, just need to find out HOW I'm going to do them, this is things I am working on at the moment, though the problem is that's something I can't show at the moment.


I'll have to try to further my research, thought processing, and progress, but as it stands, that'll be all from me for now at least.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page