top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - World Maps In-scale Concept Sketching

Hello again, new week new developments, and we know what the goal to show today is by the title.


This week is setting up the Map sprites via sketches, or in this case, making them in proper scaling for how it should look in the Moof project. In this case specifically the idea is to have a Moof sprite for scale, and the map itself pre-pixel art is to show the scale of everything around him.


Best example is World 1's own, the Isle of Moof.

Keeping the main keypoints of the Giant Tree, little hills, and coastline all in check while keeping any of them from being obstructed, down to a possible spot for a bonus level if I wanted to add one via secret in the 3rd level with the Tree.


I can skip doing secret exits maybe and just have a hidden item like a Giant Button like the Kirby games do for them mini secrets, eh, plans for a later time

But this is what I meant, Moof in scale with everything else in sketch that I can make half transparent and do pixel art over, optional animated set-pieces.


I've done three of these so far, funny enough it was only the odd numbers. 1 is above.

3 is here with the (pending name) Mountains.

The mountains even have an alternate mountain top post boss-clear.

A pile of rocks perfectly fallen down into the shape of Moof's face for the post boss-clear look, because it's cute and silly, makes it more visually enjoyable and also a bit cartoony to match Moof.


AND 5 with the (also unnamed at the moment) Desert leading funny enough into the Ocean, technically a really LONG Beach then maybe? I don't know if that'd change the name.

Complete with dragon friend that is visually to be the "flying away from the area" map detail to get to Ashra's ship, gonna add him to the end of the Isle of Moof too.


This leaves the Even number worlds getting their sketches too. 2 with Prisma, 4 with the Rainforest, and 6 with Ashra's Airship.


Then I've gotta start the process of converting these into a pixelated format, then implementing into the game, that's an important piece of the process too.

Progression at it's own pace.


The Airship will be the most interesting, and the only instance where a map will have scrolling, since I wanted to make it imposing and long, like a true Final Stretch if these concepts shown before gives any idea to the plans I want to make work.

Overall, I'd like to believe it's going well enough.


I'm still finishing up the sketches for ALL of the maps, before the task of making them in sprite form becomes a whole other task to focus on, so that one's being figured out as we speak.


I'll keep up with that and update you all as it progresses, but that takes time so unfortunately that'll be all from me for now, I'll update as my progression comes along.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page