top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Project - Background Scene-Setting Sprites and Touching Up for Unique Landscapes

Eyo, we've made it to a new Friday, and with that comes more tellings of wok done. This time around is a continuation to my string of spritework the last few weeks have been about.


This time around is something relatively simple enough, but much needed to keep levels from being empty feeling in segments, for games even like the OG Super Mario Bros. back in '85 has, we're going into talk of background assets, bushes, clouds maybe, stuff like that.


In this case I'm doing mostly trees, rocks, anything really that could work for whatever setting they're being made for, and since I have a few landscape types and environments, I have plenty of options for what to use and where.


I've got in idea maybe a need only for the odd 2 or 3 variants each area, and can use more or less as needed, and I'm starting with the setting I have a level made around at the moment, my Prisma City Outskirts.

They've got so far a few basics, a big crystal cluster, a small one, and a specialized crystalline formed tree now. These of which go with the fact that the area itself is meant to be VERY rich in crystals and minerals, and keeps the pink-purple color the floor tiles use.

I've shown before other tile sets and biomes, so I can do more of these in specific touches for those areas, cacti of varied sizes or shapes for a desert, maybe a snowman for the snowy lands along with a snow tipped tree, the Isle of Moof could use Palm Trees and bushes.


Alongside that, speaking of which, I've shown before the WIP of my Snowy Peaks/Icey area tiles.

This being from a past post, where I said I'd re-make the rocks to be a BIT more diverse.


And I held up to that, I'm working on the rocks still, but I got it more personalized, blue tinted, rounder beaded rocks, smoothed down from the moisture in the snow and ice in the mountain.

It's not the BIGGEST change, I did start with it being more blue, that looked TOO different though, so I settled for the Earthly Brown, but with some cooler blues to give a colder touch.


I want to make the land Moof explores varied in type, but also in design the places have, since Moofs are all about seeing the neat new things of the world they're in, exploring and being in awe of the land. This idea of which I would like to also be able to have be done for those that play the game when it's done.


Last sprite is also kind of a smaller note at the moment, I've not gotten all the details for it made yet, although I've, a while back, shown concept of this before.


For idea sake, this was the concept:

As an idea for a potential boss for Moof to go up against. I called him George.


I ended up going back to this, and attempting to make SOME sprites for it, and this is my results I got:

I made fire and shading to match, and each segment able to work if I wanted to break any off for whatever reason.


My coloring was based off the cannon enemies I also showed a bit back, moreso the red tipped variant which explains the red lined engine ports, while using a modified bucket body of the Goo Lad himself, I remade the middle entirely for a specialized body for George's (yes that is his name) mech.

It's not a lot, but I do like how it is turning out so far, so that's always somewhat good, right?


Varied spriting for multiple themes, ideas, and principles is kind of a heck of a time to explain, and even harder to do sometimes, but as long as it works, it works.


My coding is still kind of Work-In-Progress also, outside of the pushing needing to work it's all a level by level case scenario. Most of the universal coding aspects are ready if not just needing some minor tuning while working on building the rest of the levels, or just added visuals and not main function bits.


I'm still working on these little decor bits for the other tilesets that I've got so far, and I'll be able to show them off when they're done, but unfortunately that's not YET, and will come in due time.

So until then, that'll be all from me, so I'll see ya next time with more.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page