top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Project - Decoration Continuation, Scenebuilding for Multiple Settings/Area Types

Hello again, we know what this day of the week means, so let's do our weekly deed of progress reporting and explanation.


Last week I talked about background decor being made, and even showed some examples of how it's been turning out so far with the Prisma decor, but this week I've been going further into that idea and spreading it to the other areas I've gotten tiles made for.


So far there is a simple enough set of 3 per area, a taller tree item or other item spanning vertically five tiles high, a 2x2 tile decoration piece, and a 1x2 piece. I did however make one exception but will go over that in a second.


As of the moment I've gotten to here, I got a full set for Prisma and the Isle of Moof, and the trees in full on the desert and snowy areas which DO actually use modified forms of the above trees, but different enough to look more unique.

(ignore the teleporter on the Prisma section, it's height testing not gonna be a decoration piece in the same way that the others here are, different circumstances)


However I didn't mention one bit on the snowy segment, down in the bottom right, it's going to be the only one of these four to have a fourth decoration piece.


I like being able to make silly details when I have the opportunity to.

So when seeing the idea to make a Snowman into a SnowMoof, I had to make that easy joke.

I even had rocks be used for the spines and tail as well as the eyes, just to make him feel more specially made to be the perfect SnowMoof.


- The Isle of Moof uses a Palm Tree with coconuts involved, and two buses, one containing berries, thought a purple-pink berry color would be cutet, but only on one bush to be more visually distinct from eachother than just size.


- Prisma's decor is a crystalline tree and 2 clusters of crystals, the bigger one having one extra large crystal point.


- The (unnamed at the moment) Desert modifies the IoM Palm Tree, orange leaves, no coconuts, and a pricklier bark. It also has base shapes for Cacti, but that's still WIP.


- And the (also unnamed) Snow Area uses a modified form of the Prisma tree, crystals replaced with normal pine leaves, and added snowcaps, and the previously mentioned SnowMoof. There is no definite 2x2 nor 1x2 decor bit for that one yet.


Slight differences in existing tiles can make things a bit more unique, it only takes some pixels added and a color change to help differentiate Islandy Palms from Desert Palms, or Crystal Trees from Snowy Pine Trees.


I need to keep working out some of these details however, as mentioned the 2x2/1x2 tiled decors for the snow area isn't decided yet of what'd work just right, and I am still working on the Cacti for the desert, I also might remake the shape of the 2x2 cactus to be a bit better off than it is at the moment.


I'll keep working on these, and update accordingly, but updates come in time, so for now at least, that'll be all from me, and I'll have more to show next time.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page