top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Snake Progression

Hello, I come again to show off another bit of progression for a new game project, this time we find ourselves at Snake. Snake is definitely a new one, with usage of Arrays it definitely would feel as such, but I feel like I'm making it work.


It's a bit early in currently, but overall this is how it looks.

The lime outline is not visible in game, at the moment being used as a wall to make sure the snake can't go outside of the boundaries, just in case. The tiled background in use at the moment is most likely temporary and very subject to change, but it also keeps a good idea of how many squares there are since each one is also a unit of movement for the snake.

I just don't know if this pattern would be straining on the eyes overtime to consider it final. Especially since the Snake body isn't made yet to know how the full snake meshes with the grass. These are questions that will get answers soon enough I feel, so it'll come in due time.


There is also various sprites made of fruits I want to make use of for this project, maybe something visual like having the fruits that spawn randomize between these six each time a new one is spawned in from the prior being picked up. There is also a chance I may make more of them, when I know what fruits I should make, if I add more.

Theoretically for game play features, I want to see about doing something with movement speed, either speeding up to get fruit faster, or temporarily slowing down to make it easier to dodge hitting your own body... Mayhaps both if I can work out how to make them coexist, or work in general for that matter, it'll come in time too. Unfortunately not all too big of an update to be provided about Snake JUST yet, but the lessons are about halfway done, so the additives should be very soon to come. But can only say when it is, so until then, that'd be all for this.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page