top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Touch-ups and Finalization - Week 2 Overview.

Updated: Nov 17, 2021

The current point of time is now halfway into the second week working with Game Gen, and with it comes a lot of progress. The biggest and most noteworthy is the fact that Spacewar! should now be fully completed, we got rocket trails, we have the ships exploding when hit, we got wiggly energy shots, we got music even! (Note: I've never made music before, so first time for everything, right?)

(And a quick video of just the explosion of a ship, and a reset to replay)


The whole game was able to be made with 13 sprites, (the background, a universal bullet, both of the ships, the sun and it's glow, 4 for the animations of some of the stars, an explosion, and both trail colors), one looping music piece, and four sound effects of the shooting, the explosion, the losing sound effect, and flying.

Personally, I'd like to feel it turned out well for a first project. As it is, this game used animated backgrounds, custom sprites specifically made for it, gave me a reason to (try to) make some music, and gave me a full chance to make just a full on playable game in general, that is a LOT of things I'd like to feel.


And the next game on the line-up to make is Pong, so I feel I'm making a step up on the line of the history of games, and with the warmup of one game on the belt, I have high hopes the second one onward can turn out even better. But, only time can truly tell for that one.

5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page