top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Planning - Map Restructuring, Theorizing Simpler, Easier Method of Mapping

Hello to you all once again, today's post is gonna be slightly different from the usuaul, more an extent of what's being worked on via planning and concept work.


So at the moment my maps are trying to work along these grander scale, full moving with hitboxes and such, which seems to be a bit excessive considering there's not really been much given attention into the map itself as far as interactive detail is concerned,

However there was an idea or two

One that might be simpler, keeps the base map idea, uses less specific to-the-detail work but still give a good map-like feature regardless,


And one other that's probably more detail involved if shown side by side, but realistically I have most of it already prepared and would just need some minor additions to make it fully functional,


Downside in either case will be I feel like I put too much time into this method with hitboxes and all, and either way it'd be replaced with either of these,

But if it works better then it should be worth it because it'll be more efficient all around after the fact, more result and less complex designing.


Two plans are in mind.


For the first:

There is a game, specifically Kirby Squeak Squad, that does a simpler approach, same map layout and art, but the tiles are just simple teleporting to the markers

In my case it's just about making the artwork itself, and a sprite set of one big dot, one small dot, and numbers, which I already have two of three, and is realistically faster, and easier to grasp/understand since all it is would be a simple button press.


Most the work however would be around making the backgrounds, this I'd need to manually do if I go this route as the biggest detail/factor to this method since I don't have pre-made assets that'd be readily able to convert into a map-like design.


The second however: Second is a bit more of a complete restructure, but also might be surprisingly easier to do despite the fact it'd almost if not fully redo everything about the map so far.


ALSO something Kirby did before if I recall in a few instances, but in mind main one being Kirby's Adventure on the NES, but also games like Pizza Tower, have it be, in it of itself, a 2d playable area.

I already am making the Moof for the 2D stuff as that's just how the levels are, so it's not really many new assets meshing in with everything and possibly not new coding outside of interactions on map items as he'll already have his base movements,

  • It allows secret stuff for explorers like the current map's idea was going to be,

  • I can use a tileset and background assets I've already made for other levels

  • Saves having to design landmass shapes/mapmaking efforts


Either way I feel like I should work into changing the map structure in some way, the current standpoint is both a lot of work, and honestly at the moment, not too much result out of it, and I want to do something to fix that, less comparison work, but gives more effect to the effort given ratio.


This will probably need a bit more planning, but I'd love input on what could be the best route to go with, something's got to be done because the current route being done now is not exactly the most.. I guess best wording is efficient for a one person team.


I'd need to get something going, and would love to make something to show how it'll change for, hopefully, the better. I've got to keep working on this though as right now there's not really much, or anything, to show for these ideas.


Until then at least, that'll be all from me for now, and I'll update again soon.

2 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page