top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress and General Art - Sketch Posing for Tall Characters and Possible YT Planning

Hello to you all once again, I'm back at it again with more art progression of both game and general purposes alike.


I'll probably start with the game based work in progress stuff first, familiar grounds with sketching out poses before making sprites of them. Although unlike Moof and his sketches, the lad I've been working on this week is taller, bigger than the Moofs are, which comes with their own challenges of working around their different proportions, sizing, and generally just the demeanor of the characters themselves.


The focus at the moment is the first boss in mind, a Hyena who's being called Pierce.

Going the route akin to Crash Bandicoot where each boss is a visually different person instead of one person in various machines. Each going off a theme, him specifically being a mix of Metal music and Circus themes, as Ashra keeps to a modern scientist aesthetic.


He's been getting some pose sketches as of recently,

An idle in base figure and with Pierce's design details, set for a front flip, a jump kick and blast alike, and 2 sketches for being hit on the bottom left, though likely going with the right one of the two.


Working further on these for Pierce and the other bosses alike. so as of now there's some for Pierce, and some for Ashra which I showed before in this, showing again now to have them both together.

Ashra's will be worked on better to have the full body visible in ones like the bottom left though, which should be quick since it's only 1 rework at least, but I'm getting all the poses I'll be likely needing/using.

I'll show more of them as they go on.


Alongside that, I've been working up on some more of the outside art from last week, last week I showed one sketch and an icon, well at least as of now, the sketch has color and proper outlining.

There's a frame and everything, because if it and the icon give any hints, I may or may not be contemplating making a proper YouTube channel since I have my own proper room to do it in.


I've had Google Docs scripts in a backlog for a long while now, and an old banner I took assets from and remade something with, as of now, it looks like this.

The old assets were the TV frame and the shelving under it, everything on top of them, the TV antennae, and the stuff on the sides are new to it, I even photoed the game stacks myself with MK games on the left and games with character customization on the right, complete with a self-made meme edit Tony Hawk remake cover.

I even added tiny Moof figures, they cute, they deserve to be there.


Compared to what the older one looked like when I thought pre-making assets would be a better idea than it was given how long I'd have to wait to be able to.. I'd say this is a step up.

I got it though, had about 60% of the assets pre-made then too, so hey, plus sides about it all.


I'll keep trying to bring about more details of that soon too as it also comes along, it and the sketches/sprites alike I am trying to balance working out on, so hoping for the best there.


I'll do my best and show you all developments as they go on, however that's something for future me to do, so until then at least, that'll be all from me for now.

2 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page