top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Background and Scenery Assets, Ice Land WIP and Touch Ups

Hello to you all once more,

It's been a fair bit since the last post, over a week due to the recent holidays, so I'm coming back now with something to show that's a bit more than concept, to get use in the Moof project.


A while back I've shown one of my finished backgrounds in regards to Prisma's Undergrounds. Shown with beams of light from the top, a mixed shading of purples, simpler color palette but effective.

And also the Isle of Moof background, with a nice sunset gradient of pink to orange and bigger bodies of water to give a better tropical island feel,

albeit while the background itself still needs more work to be with all of it's working layers,

it also has a concept version of the background which does have more to show in the sky,

I'll make the to be in-use background match these levels of detail soon enough. However, this is only part of the process, I do have another background in the works for another region of exploration for the Moofs.


One region being a snowy/ice type of area. Of which in that regard, it's got progress going.

I'm still working on some obvious areas like the sky having clouds and a sun, snow on the trees, stuff like that.


However, I also have some details that've been planned out and made, like the snowy ground, and the water which comes with an attempt of simulating transparency/reflection, and ice bits, segmented enough to work in parallax when implemented fully into the project.


As shown before, I've already had some sprites for foreground decoration tiles, and walking on ground tiles set up for places like this and other places.

If anything, only having more tiles than these which have been shown a while back, and edited to be more diverse, with bigger, bluer rocks, however that's just how progression naturally goes.

The idea is to make these landscapes diverse, unique by more than just "snow theme, desert", I want to have the trees be lush in forests, ice going down the snowy rivers, a nice sunset on the pacific island,


I want them to be something that would be nice to explore, fitting the Moofs' whole thing about seeing the sights of these areas. And hopefully that's going relatively good so far.


I'm still working on finalizing these backgrounds however, but the efforts of that come in time, so I'll show more when more is done,


But for now at least, that'll be all for now from me.

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page