top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Background Sprite Continuation, Sprite Start Animations, and Code Touch-ups

Hello once more, last week I showed you all background decor and mentioned working further in sprites and when they linked up, the coding with them, well today I'm updating even MORE further into that.


First thing's first is the background decor, in two regards actually, the first is the desert that was with rough cacti shaping, I went and got some researching of cacti I could go out to see, ones like at the LA Zoo for instance, and with this, I got ideas for the cacti to use in the desert-settings.

In this photo is a rounded ball cactus, cluster of thinner cacti, an orange-er piny palm tree, and two versions of the base of the tree, one with and without cacti lining it. I also thought to add some swished around sand under the cacti too because sand would cluster a little around them in mind with wind blowing it all around.


Alongside making these background decor bits. I've also started to actually implement them in levels, or more so the level that I have at the moment. They help make it more lively.

Crystal Trees, clusters and flooring are now all a thing in the Prisma outskirts.


This all is coming along well so far, but they're all visual only, now's the stuff that is visual AND has coding implementations/implementation goals.


Moof has been getting more sprites, because I've began working on animation start-ups, of which work alongside some of his control based touch-ups.

Moof is likely getting more tightly tuned movement controls, unlike how he has been where he's got a slow walk that builds up to a run, in mind I want to have a consistent run speed that gives the player a more solid idea of motion speed.


To do this, I incorporated a newer way Moof's run animation plays if it's gonna overtake the slower walk startup, and that was a Start-up animation that doesn't loop, an animation that when ended plays the animation that DOES loop, in this case being a Run Start into just the whole looping Run.


Alongside the Run, I also decided to finally add more frames between the Dive as well, making it visually look like he's moving in an arc.

For an idea here's a screenshot portraying Moof's older and newer sprites respectively:

A mix of more sprites, smoother sprites, and/or different poses in it's entirety. The differences are clear, and give some more personality to the Moof as a character.


Even got a trial of the idea, pre finalizing the code for the run itself to record in usage.

I got the startup animation in testing going to a run, though this is a rough idea, something that shows him go from standing to leaning into the run. It's not much, but it helps a good bit I'd like to think.


My plan right now is to continue touching up the movement of Moof, run speed/acceleration, fix the dive to be a more universal distance instead of having to hold A or D to get any distance from it, which is a problem I recently realized since I instinctively seemed to hold either when diving, but it's not gonna be a too big problem to fix.


I'm still working further with the project, however I can only gives updates when they come, so I'll show more in due time, until then, that'll be all from me for now.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page