top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Coding Touch-Up, Fixed Diving and Adding a Start-Up Animation for Smoothness

Hello, a new week means new additions and changes, and I am here to provide exactly that.


This week is a bit more coding than the last few posts have had, albeit still with some animation changes and additions like my usual, however, that also has a code based purpose to it, which I will be going over.


This week is mostly designated to fixing up Moof's movements like the last week should also have mentioned. First was tightening his running, which I have mostly done, then it's his dive, which is what I've been reworking this week. Half the challenge is reworking the dive with Moof already having coding for the dive amongst other things, since I've gotta add code again, while having the old one disabled, that works with what he already has. However, I think I made it work well enough to achieve my base ideas:

So this code serves a few purposes at the moment:


- Primarily it's a bit easier to change stats of the dive if I need them to be further or shorter distances.


- Adds a stronger dive for if you're not holding down a key, and makes it weaker if holding a key, so they're balanced out to be the same dive strength, whether or not the key is held to keep from being too weak or too strong.


If you've noticed in the image above, there's a new "Dive Start" animation, while it's not in the screenshot, there IS code in play to make the main dive loop play after the start ended.


The Dive Start is shown actually last week, this image to be exact, as I added more of a curve in the dive, to make it go from 2 frames (only 4 in the old Dive sprites because I didn't know whether to do mouth open or closed so it's the same pair but for each), now it's 8 sprites, 4 angles granted, but with the tail motion which plays each other frame, less effort, more animation.

Overall, the refinement process is starting to get more and more closer to being done.. more or less.


I'll only really need to fix enemy positions and one enemy specific bug, before being able to maybe send a test run file out to people to test it all and see how to fix movement speeds and likewise from there.


Last bit of updates for today is a small addition/update around the background decor tiles, the snowy land tiles are starting to get their 1x2 and 2x2 props, and for the trees of there and Prisma specifically, I added in-between tiles for trees being side by side in eachother.

So far the snow decor bits have a Snow-Moof as an extra special 4th decor piece, but I also included ice spikes and smoothed (soon to have snow on em) rocks.


This is however not the priority in comparison to the above stuff with fixing Moof's code, so that's why it's progressing a grip slower. But it's progressing, so realistically that's all I can ask for, with this and with coding alike.


I will be working further into this to make everything run better, look smoother, and be more complete. However, these updates come in due time, and I'll show more as it comes along, until then, that'll be all from me.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page