top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Further Ice-Land (Name Pending) Background Work

Heyo again, I've returned this week with.. realistically not the MOST to progress, but still a pretty good bit of development to share.


Last week had the Work-in-Progress for the ice background be along these lines:

Where there was suggestion last week to make the trees further back blue-er to match the sky tones alongside my own needed list of adding snow to the trees and making more detail to the sky and ground alike.


I've taken some time to actually work more into this also, and while I've been adding some stuff, there's also a few changes I've made.

For one of the easier to spot instances, the sky is made into a night-time setting, to better match post Prisma Outskirts/City time, and better flow into a day-time setting for the desert tiles and anything after.


The sky itself uses their own specifically made cloud layers, semi transparent to be more like a faint snowy mist in mind, there is a good view of mountains that I will adjust to match a specific "segment of a former level/segment" landmark when I get the concept for that done, and stars that if parallax is applied go further down below what's visible JUST INCASE height becomes a factor.


I made the trees both darker and SHOULD be a bit bluer tinted, my eyes dont see the best with colors so please let me know how that went.


I added a light reflection in the water of light, small amount of it due to both night and to make it a subtler, not overbearing effect, as well as a faint reflection of the frontmost trees.


I may have only went a bit intensly focused in on an idea of dithered layering, the sky, water, and clouds using it to degrees as shown here with a screencap that takes out the trees.

In mind, going for this slow fade to dark that almost makes it fade more into the sky, and I'm hoping that it looks good and does that idea relatively well.


Pondering if I should make a light foreground snowing effect, but worry that would obstruct vision which I, understandably, do not want to have happen.


These are similar ideas I shared last week when talking about the Isle of Moof concept work:

Where it also shares a water reflection state of sprites to give em simulated depth, but no reflection of light pixels, This being the concept made before the resolution of the backgrounds I've went with using.


I will also likely take one more note from this and have the water have a deeper effect of dithering gradient the closer to the foreground it goes to make the water look deeper.


I will make sure that Moof, the Snow Tiles, and the Base Enemies alike do not blend into the background, however in mind, with how Moof is colored alone, I'd LIKE to believe it shouldn't exactly be much of an issue, since there is outlines and color tones in place that were made to specifically try to avoid this one possible problem.


As shown here, light body, dark enough outline, if one blends, while I try to fix it, hoping that the other will pick up for the one slacking and make him visible anyways.


I will have a bit of an easier time to do the Isle of Moof and Desert Area (Name Pending) backgrounds at least, however, there is plans for Ashra's Airship and mechanics are going to be.. something that might need outside aid for, I'm not the most machine design savvy.


This is something ongoing however, and can only truly show the progress of in time, so at least for now, that will be all from me, and hope I can show more next time.

2 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page