top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Slow but Steady Development, Visual Processing and Idealization

Heyo one and all again, I come to give more news for my project's ongoings and both have some stuff to show, but not a whole lot.. The current week was mostly on a weird bit of an art block so trying to make whole things felt weirdly harder to do than it probably SHOULD have..

But that doesn't mean I exactly have nothing either, I got some work did for this project. Primary piece being the world map's bigger land mass from last week has a full shape to it now, outer-layer wise, still working on interior like lake cutoffs and the likes.

But from the screenshot you can tell, the world map will have a greater collection of biomes and land types on the bigger island as it's primary location. I just have to make the tiles for the map, level select dots and special, specific landmarks for the visuals of it.


Alongside the visual world, another bit of visual design being worked on is for the Moof himself. He's got a theoretical health system in place if I can work it out, but for his actions themselves I have enough base sprites to show him doing the actions without much in the way of making him entirely characterized in the ways I want him to be.


I took some time here too so I can sketch out a page of sorts of actions he could be doing that I can make in sprite form later. Just sketches though, enough to convey the idea of the action.

Things like a dance at the end of levels, climbing, a hurt animation, even a flip at the arc of a higher jump. If it's something that can be in his movement list, I will try to make it as goofy, cute, or fitting generally to the Moofs as I can.


His sprites alone are getting a small addition also, but I can't give away what that one is yet until I get it working on his current sprite sheet, so I'll leave the mystery out there for now.

Just know one important feature on the Moof has been missing from 80% of his sprites, and I plan on correcting this issue, among others.


All I can say is I hope that I can get these done and have more to show next week, and apologies also for the much shorter than usual post.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page