top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Tanks, Animation Tests, and Itch.io. A Whole Week Recap

Hey there, apologies about the no mid week blog this week, I somehow got horribly lost in time and thought today was Wednesday, and turns out, it was not.


Today I bring both news about the newest Game Gen game lesson, and the platformer project I occasionally mention. Starting with the prior mentioned, this week I have been working on Tank, or what I keep instinctively calling it for some reason, Combat.

Over the week I've been working on the basics of it, visually it's kinda on the not as out there side, as I've been working on the functions itself more, and making it feel more.. right to use.

However the challenge comes up about adding a feature to it, and I have a few ideas I want to add. Considering taking influence from the Tank game on Wii Play and adding droppable mini mines that can destroy designated pieces of a wall.


In Wii Play's version as some inspiration, not counting the manually aim-able shots without having to rotate the body, they allowed the use of little mines to be placed, to either stop an enemy from wanting to go down your path, or after a few seconds, automatically exploding.

(Separate image from the above, but found another example showing just the mine alone.)

And when it automatically blew up along a cracked paler wall, the wall broke, making a new hole/path for traveling down. This can maybe be done with some tweaking to the current map layout I have to make strategic plans of where to use these mines, and maybe if I can, make it a limited number of mines (3 or 5 per game until reset). This may be the most likely one went with, if I can make it work.

I hope that I'll be able to give good news about this soon.


Alongside this, there is more additions about the platformer project I make frequent notes about. This week aside from the typical tile set talk, we have sprites of a playable character himself. Specifically, he's getting actual animation!

He be walking,

(only half the frames, but enough key frames to be walking with.)

His head does light bops with a smile,

He's actually starting to be more natural and move.


The head bop specifically uses 7 sprites, one neutral/center, and 3 going left, 3 going right. These will also be implemented into his walking, give him a little wobble and motion in his walk.


And going back to the tiles, I replaced the Pyrite to be shinier, and a little less saturated to look a tad more realistically colored.

So shiny, so smooth!


Lastly, for Itch.io, Lunar Lander is now playable on my itch page. And you can play it here;

This makes two games published, so far Spacewar! isn't... still. I half feel like I should touch it up more before sending it. As well as go back and add screenshots for the games that ARE published. Still new to Itch, so it's still a learning curve of how to make these pages look.


For this week though, that's about the most of what I got that is developed enough to be able to share to this extent. I'll keep working to make the best of what I work on, and hopefully get even more to show soon, so that'd be all for this post.


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page