top of page
Search
jonathanluitjens

Platformer Progress - Flying Enemies, Standstill Variant Function and Their Overall Visual Additions

Hello to you all once again, we all know what this means, today is another end of the week and with it a new progress check in for the week.


The week is mixed with visual and function.. specifically for one entity.

My work goal of this week was set to the flying enemies I've shown last week, You know, these lads:

It was just a simple thing of getting variant by variant made with function, then a visual piece made that all the variants of them will share.


The visual add-on was for when they're defeated. In this enemies' case was to make something of the bucket they're riding on, as it wouldn't just disappear like the goo itself when being stomped upon, that would look weird and a little wrong almost for me.


I thought I should add a form of the bucket that got dinged up, post being stomp on that will be thrown a bit out and rotate and such until it fell off the screen/level as a whole.

It's nothing major, kind of just an edit of the existing 'clean' bucket to use for the prop job, simple edit, and addition. But I can use this to give a more special to them effect.


---------------------------------------------------

As for the functionality, I started with the easiest one for adding function to and went with the only one of the variants that don't really move, the static floater.


This variant don't really move greatly out vertically nor horizontally, no special pattern of movement like the orbiters, it's just a good base to have a floating lad for air obstacles, or bases to jump from one spot to another with a long gap.


This video demonstrates both the "movement" of theirs, and how the broken bucket spawning works.


Movement in this case is more a floaty bobbing than movement, which by the way, I took the advice given last week and used Sines for their bobbing and oh my gosh it works so well, not big but makes it so much better.


And also got a trial of them being stepped on. These enemy locations are all temporary, so I don't have to travel to the middle of the level EVERY time I want to see how a line or 2 of code works.

So I use the start to align them in ways that could see a few instances of the enemies before moving them to more finalized locations. Two for chaining stomps, different locations for the flying enemies to see about hitting them off eachother or springs and like wise, and at the start so resetting them is easy and quick.


I've so far got 1 of the 4 flying variants done, I'll make the universal path adjustment markers for the enemies that move, both horizontally and vertically, to switch their courses, then will add the other 3 types.

I also wish to get these enemies to be moved to their proper places in the level as they're being added, so I can fill the level out while working on universal enemy types also seen in other levels outside of just this one.


I'll be dealing in the trials of adding these flight enemies in full, but I'd have to update them as it goes along, this week has just some news about the one, so that'll be all from me for now at least, I'll try to keep you all updated.

So until then, that's all from me for now.

1 view0 comments

コメント


bottom of page